Full text: List of Nobel Laureates (1939)

The prize for the year 1931 was awarded lo: 
“The poetry of Evik Axel Karlfeldt.” 
KArRLFELDT, ERIK AXEL, dr., born 1864, died 8th 
April, 1931. Was Permanent Secretary to the 
Swedish Academy in Stockholm. 
The prize for the year 1932 was awarded to: 
GALSWORTHY, JouN, O. M., London, born 1867, died 
31st January, 1933; “for the distinguished power 
of descviplion which attains its highest expression 
in the Forsyte Saga.” 
The prize for the year 1933 was awarded to: 
BuxIN, IVAN, Grasse, born in Russia 1870; “for the 
firm avtistical skill with which he has vepresented 
the Russian classical line in the art of poetical 
The prize for the year 1934 was awarded to: 
PiraNDELLO, Luigi, Rome, born 1867, died 10th 
December, 1936; “for his bold and ingenious 
re-creation of dvamatic and scenic art.’ 
The prize for the year 1935 was allocated in 1936 
with one third to the main fund of the Founda- 
tion and with two thivds to the special fund for 
this group of prizes. 
The prize for the year 1936 was awarded to: 
O'NEILL, Eugene, U. S. A., born 1888; “for dra- 
matical works of vital energy, sincerity and 
intensity of feeling, stamped with an original 
conception of tragedy.” 
The prize for the year 1937 was awarded to: 
MARTIN DU GARD, ROGER, France, born 1881; “for 
the artistic vigour and trulh he has attained in 
the movel-cycle ’Les Thibault’ while displaying 
human contrasts and essential aspects on contem- 
porarv life.”

Note to user

Dear user,

In response to current developments in the web technology used by the Goobi viewer, the software no longer supports your browser.

Please use one of the following browsers to display this page correctly.

Thank you.